Top 50 Highest Run Scorers in Test Cricket – Most Runs in Test Cricket

Test cricket is all about determination and right platform to showcase your talent. Test cricket have seen some amazing legends including the great Sachin Tendulkar, Sunil Gavaskar, Ricky Ponting, Rahul Dravid, Brian Lara and many more.

Each and every player holds different record in test cricket. For example Sachin Tendulkar was first player to cross 15000 test runs and still not a single player is even near to break the record. The West Indian legend Brian Lara is world record holder to score highest runs in a single innings against England. Virender Sehwag has the highest strike rate amongst other batsman and changed the course of the game when he arrived in test cricket. Test cricket is about consistency. In earlier times there was very low number of test teams and they didn’t play test cricket frequently and in today’s generation teams even playing back to back test series. Some players are even scoring more than 1000 runs in a calendar year.

As I said in test match cricket a player can play 90 overs per day and he can show his best batting and bowling ability in day’s play. Many players have batted throughout the day and scored plenty of runs. In test match cricket one more benefit for batsman is that they can bat twice in the match so even if they fail in either inning they can catch their score. In recent time there are few players who can be at top after few years if they plays consistently. In this list some great names are there including Virat Kohli, Hasim Amla, Steve Smith, Kane Williamson & Steve Smith.

I have compiled top 50 highest run scorers of test cricket. Most of the players in below list already retired from International cricket. In current era top players with most runs in Test cricket are Virat Kohli, Steve Smith & Kane Williamson.

Top 50 Highest Run Scorers in Test Cricket (Last Updated – 6th January 2021)

1SR Tendulkar (INDIA)20032915921248*53.785168
2RT Ponting (AUS)1682871337825751.854162
3JH Kallis (ICC/SA)1662801328922455.374558
4R Dravid (ICC/INDIA)1642861328827052.313663
5AN Cook (ENG)1612911247229445.353357
6KC Sangakkara (SL)1342331240031957.43852
7BC Lara (ICC/WI)13123211953400*52.883448
8S Chanderpaul (WI)16428011867203*51.373066
9DPMD Jayawardene (SL)1492521181437449.843450
10AR Border (AUS)1562651117420550.562763
11SR Waugh (AUS)1682601092720051.063250
12SM Gavaskar (INDIA)12521410122236*51.123445
13Younis Khan (PAK)1182131009931352.053433
14HM Amla (SA)1242159282311*46.642841
15GC Smith (ICC/SA)117205926527748.252738
16GA Gooch (ENG)118215890033342.582046
17Javed Miandad (PAK)1241898832280*52.572343
18Inzamam-ul-Haq (ICC/PAK)120200883032949.62546
19VVS Laxman (INDIA)134225878128145.971756
20AB de Villiers (SA)1141918765278*50.662246
21MJ Clarke (AUS)1151988643329*49.12827
22ML Hayden (AUS)103184862538050.733029
23V Sehwag (ICC/INDIA)104180858631949.342332
24IVA Richards (WI)121182854029150.232445
25AJ Stewart (ENG)133235846319039.541545
26DI Gower (ENG)117204823121544.251839
27KP Pietersen (ENG)104181818122747.282335
28G Boycott (ENG)1081938114246*47.722242
29GS Sobers (WI)931608032365*57.782630
30ME Waugh (AUS)1282098029153*41.812047
31JE Root (ENG)97177782325447.991749
32MA Atherton (ENG)1152127728185*37.691646
33IR Bell (ENG)118205772723542.692246
34JL Langer (AUS)105182769625045.272330
35MC Cowdrey (ENG)114188762418244.062238
36CG Greenidge (WI)108185755822644.721934
37Mohammad Yousuf (PAK)90156753022352.292433
38MA Taylor (AUS)1041867525334*43.491940
39CH Lloyd (WI)1101757515242*46.671939
40DL Haynes (WI)116202748718442.291839
41DC Boon (AUS)107190742220043.652132
42LRPL Taylor (NZ)105*183737929045.831934
43V Kohli (INDIA)871477318254*53.412723
44G Kirsten (SA)101176728927545.272134
45WR Hammond (ENG)851407249336*58.452224
46DA Warner (AUS)841557244335*48.942430
47SPD Smith (AUS)75135723723961.332629
48CH Gayle (WI)103182721433342.181537
49SC Ganguly (INDIA)113188721223942.171635
50SP Fleming (NZ)1111897172274*40.06946
51KS Williamson (NZ)83*144711525154.312432

Recent Articles

Related Stories

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay on op - Ge the daily news in your inbox