9 Players with Most Man of the Match Awards in IPL History

T20 Cricket is game of 4 hours and anything can happen in it. This is the pure entertainment for cricket fans. IPL is the leading T20 League of international cricket and popular international players are playing in it. Let’s check out which player has won the Man of the Match award maximum time for his team.

Most Man of the Match Awards Winners in IPL

1. Chris Gayle – 17

chris gayle ipl

Chris Gayle is only few runs away to complete 10000 runs in IPL cricket. Chris Gayle has all the powers to hit ball out of the stadium. There are many incidents where Chris Gayle alone fetched the game from opposition team.

Christ Gayle was part of KKR team earlier and won only 1 Man of the Match award for the team. In 2011 Gayle joined RCB team and rest is history. Chris Gayle has won 16 Man of the Match award in IPL. Gayle also has the highest individual score in IPL cricket.

2. Yusuf Pathan – 16

yusuf pathan ipl

Yusuf Pathan started his IPL career for Rajasthan Royals team and had huge contribution in 2008 IPL season. Yusuf Pathan is hard hitter batsmen and handy bowler for the team. Yusuf Pathan played first 3 seasons for RR team and won MOM award for 9 times.

Now Yusuf Pathan is crucial part of KKR team and won 7 times Man of the Match award for the team. Yusuf comes usually comes to bat when 5 to 7 overs are left and he manages to score quick runs.

3. AB de Villiers 15

ab de villiers ipl

Mr. 360 doesn’t need any introduction and especially in India. AB de Villiers is one of the most popular players in India as fan loves him no matter from which team he is playing. AB de Villiers never disappoints their fans ever as he is one of the most consistent players for RCB team.

AB de Villiers won Man of the Match award for 15 times in IPL. ABD played first 3 seasons for Delhi Daredevils and won Man of the Match award 2 times. Later he joined RCB team and won Man of the Match award for 13 times for the team. AB de Villiers also has 3 hundreds in IPL and is on 3rd position in the list of Most hundreds in IPL.

4. David Warner – 14

david warner ipl

David Warner is consistent player when it comes to T20 cricket and he is the backbone of Sunrisers Hyderabad team. David Warner is explosive opening batsmen and it’s very hard to match his class in world T20 league. In 2016 IPL season David Warner scored over 800 runs in single season just behind Virat Kohli.

Till 2013 David Warner was part of Delhi Daredevils team and won MOM award for 5 times there. After joining SRH team Warner won Man of the Match award for 9 times. Under captaincy of David Warner SRH team won the last year’s IPL as well.

5. Rohit Sharma -13

rohit sharma ipl


Rohit Sharma is a class player and when he gets going it’s hard to stop him. In 2017 IPL season he is not in good nick but we are sure that he will come back in form. Rohit Sharma had missed many matches in recent time due to his injuries.

Currently Rohit Sharma is captain of Mumbai Indians and under his leadership MI won IPL twice. Rohit Sharma played first 3 seasons for Deccan Chargers and won 3 times Man of the Match award. Since 2011 Rohit Sharma won Man of the Match awards 10 times. Rohit Sharma is just behind Suresh Raina and Virat Kohli in the list of highest run scorer in IPL.

6. Suresh Raina – 13

suresh raina ipl

Suresh Raina is highest run scorer in IPL seasons having more than 4000 runs. Suresh Raina is consistent batsmen in IPL season for Chennai Superkings and Gujarat Lions as well. Currently he is the captain of Gujarat Lions and took team to the playoff round in last IPL season.

Suresh Raina has won Man of the match award 13 times. Raina has won MOM award in all seasons till date and hope he will win in this season as well.

7. MS Dhoni 12

msdhoni ipl

MS Dhoni has its own legacy in IPL cricket. Because of Sachin Tendulkar cricket became ultimate attraction amongst Indian fans and because of Dhoni and CSK team IPL was prime attraction. Dhoni was the captain of CSK team for first 8 seasons before it gets banned. Currently MS Dhoni is playing for Rising Pune Supergiants but only as wicket keeper batsmen.

Next year in 2018 CSK and RR team will be back in IPL and we can see Dhoni leading the team once again. MS Dhoni won Man of the Match award 12 times in IPL career. Well this is less number of MOM awards because Dhoni has finished game for his team many times.

8. Ajinkya Rahane 12

ajinkya rahane ipl

Ajinkya Rahane is class, elegance and pure batsmen. Rahane has all the shots from cricket book and he can play anywhere in the world. Ajinkya Rahane was part of Rajasthan Royals team for first 8 seasons and now is a part of Rising Pune Supergiants.

Rahane won Man of the Match award 12 times in IPL career and one of the most consistent batsmen of T20 cricket.

9. Virat Kohli 11

virat kohli ipl

Virat Kohli is the leader of T20 International Cricket. Virat is the second name of consistency and currently captain of RCB team. Virat Kohli has played for Royal Challengers Bangalore for all IPL seasons and won 11 times Man of the Match awards. Yes, MOM number is very low because of Chris Gayle and AB de Villiers.

In 2016 IPL season Virat Kohli scored 4 hundreds in a single season. He was the leading run scorer in IPL 2016 with more than 900 runs. Virat Kohli has the most runs in IPL series till date.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *